EaP Introduction

    EU and six partner countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) established in 2009 the Eastern Partnership (EaP), a joint initiative building also on bilateral relations. This cooperation was stepped up with the Association Agreements and DCFTAs signed with Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. Policy work conducted in this area includes:

    • The EaP regional transport network (approved 2013 and included in the indicative TEN-T maps);
    • Regulatory convergence, which became a priority notably for countries having signed Association Agreements with the EU;
    • Regional transport cooperation and capacity building actions in all transport modes.

    Policy and other related documents


    European Union Neighbourhood Transport Plan
    Joint Declaration on future of Eastern Partnership transport cooperation
    Joint Declaration of the Eastern Partnership Summit (Riga, 21-22 May 2015)
    Joint Declaration on transport cooperation between the EU and Eastern Partnership countries
    Partnership agreement: "Economic Integration and Convergence with EU Policies"
    Press Release: Commission launches new Neighbourhood Transport Action Plan


    Eastern Partnership Ministerial Meetings


    Cezary Grabarczyk, Minister of Infrastructure, Poland, Using transport to link the EU with its eastern neighbours, Eastern Partnership Ministerial Conference, Poland 2013
    Siim Kallas, Vice-President of the European Commission, Eastern Partnership Transport Ministerial Meeting, Luxemburg 2013


    For more information please visit European Commission website on EaP and the website on Mobility and Transport (European Neighbourhood Policy/EaP).



    Agreements  Country fiches   e-Library of documents   Projects  Road Safety  Transport Indicators